a man 4 all seasons's Blog

a blog about the weird and wonderful virtual world that is Second Life

Man in the Mirror – 7 Deadly s{k}ins & Vero Modero

with 9 comments

7ds-n-vero-modero-man-in-the-mirror

“I’m starting with the man in the mirror
I’m asking him to change his ways” MJ

We change a lot of things in Second Life® but skin and face can be a fundamental change in how others see us and how we project our personalities onto the virtual platform.

7 Deadly s{K}ins November group gift is a store voucher for 400 L$. It’s a great start to a new you. I used the “Ace” face applier for CATWA heads via the OMEGA relay. I must say this is one of my favourite 7DS skins, the texturing of the beard and hairbase are wonderful. The face applier gives my CATWA Paul mesh head a balanced look. The eyebrows are neither too arched or too thin. There’s a clean faced version, and a without hairbase version in the face appliers, too. They are very good value considering that at one time we used to pay out 1K for a system skin. I teamed these appliers with an existing system skin which I think was a hunt gift from somewhere. If you can do this, you’ll make a savings but then you might just want to pick up the matching skin  from 7DS anyway, use the DEMO first and see.

7ds-ace-face-applier

*~*~*

I was wearing an outfit from Vero Modero which is pretty well mid season if you don’t want to get into the sweaters and overcoats yet. These are separates – the Andon Jacket that comes with and without t-shirt insert plus the Murat leather pants. There’s a choice of half a dozen t-shirts with various sentiments on them, although the jacket will always be the colour you see. I chose the Love Rocks t-shirt/jacket combo. You can also wear the jacket without the t-shirt so it’s a versatile outfit for not a lot of lindens. The jacket has five sizes from zero to five (I chose the 3 size) and the pants have versions in XS – XL. The medium fitted well under the size 3 jacket/t-shirt combo.  I tried a necklace on with this but it tended to cut the line a bit, so I wore a lapel brooch instead. I quite like the way the neck and chest are slightly bared, it balances up the overall look.  The leather pants, by the way, have really nice back pocket details so you could wear those with another outfit, maybe a tucked in shirt, to show off that feature.

vero-modero-n-7ds

*~*~*

I took the photos in my dressing room – yes I do have one *laughs* – so the furniture in there is nice and restful so I don’t feel rushed while styling outfits. Try it sometimes, it works!

AF – Mission Armoire (Antique) – I admire this piece by Apple Fall, it’s vintage and the doors open and close. The base drawer is meshed open which is appropriate for a dressing room.
Fancy Decor – Ghent Altarpiece (small size) – this goes up on the wall, you can open and close the triptych. One of my favourite stores for décor, this is so colourful and represents the actual thing in real life. Talented designer, is Jake!
N4RS – Nouveau Art Set – Sofa – another vintage set from the 1930s, it matches the wooden floor of the room so well. Pieces include rug, glass wall décor and sofa for up to 2 avatars.
Alouette – Antoinette Floor Length Mirror – try Marketplace for this as I am not sure if the sim still exists.

Here’s your taxis:

Visit 7 Deadly s{K}ins GUYS department

7ds-logo

Visit Vero Modero (and you’ll land right by the entrance to the men’s section)

[VM] LOGO

Cheers, m’dears 🙂

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey it’s not easy to do a good mirror image, nice work!

    ReadMeri

    17/11/2016 at 10:01 pm

  2. Woooow my dear Moz, it’s a wonderful effect … love it!!

    Alex Danick

    18/11/2016 at 12:30 am

    • Thanks very much, Alex! You are good at using camera angles to get a more interesting photo 🙂

      Moz Loordes

      18/11/2016 at 5:02 pm

  3. Indeed.. because I don’t even know how to do a mirror image.. lol.. great work Moz.. and I had a nice giggle over the dressing room 🙂

    Alexa

    18/11/2016 at 3:52 am

    • Thanks, Alexa, you just take a picture back and front using a pose that has a mirror image option, and then fiddle about in photoshop for ages trying to get it into the mirror with suitable shading. Jaffa cakes help greatly with this process! I love my dressing room 🙂

      Moz Loordes

      18/11/2016 at 2:45 pm

      • Oh thanks for that Moz!! I will have to try that soon… even though I primarily use only PicMonkey.. I have yet to sit down and learn photoshop. 🙂

        Alexa

        18/11/2016 at 4:38 pm

  4. Nice look Moz 🙂

    SueGeeli DeCuir

    22/11/2016 at 11:02 am


Leave a Reply

