a man 4 all seasons's Blog

a blog about the weird and wonderful virtual world that is Second Life

Feathering of Nests

with one comment

Since VWM are very generous to their staff and allow us to have free advertising for our businesses it was time for me to create my first jewelry advert! Not easy when there’s so many superb jewelers around who have thought carefully about their individual style and incorporated it into their marketing. So what to do?

In the end I decided to go with my lil logo pal, the red robin.  There’s a lot of avian inspired words and phrases in our human language – henpecked, birds of a feather flock together, pecking order, the blue bird of happiness, dawn chorus, go to roost, getting broody… I’m sure you can think of many more. I was wracking what few brain cells I possess until the phrase… feathering your nest came to mind. That was it! Why not build a fabulous bird’s nest from jewelry? If I could do that it would either drive me nutz or show that I could handle a nanoprim or three.

I started with the nest, building it out of rounds of linked chains. This soon added up to a sizeable amount of prims so I moved to the CIF&D sandbox rather than max out Mirr. We do have enough spare prims to make up a high prim necklace but this was already amounting to well over that quota.  Fortunately it was quiet and I was the only person labouring away in the sandbox. Having built the nest I started adding various jewels to the outside of it, texturing as I went until it looked balanced. I do a lot of things by eye and I know that many builders throw their hands up in the air when people don’t use mathematics. But sometimes the eye can be as precise and you aren’t delayed by feverish calculations as to what and how. Next came the eggs, sculpts textured in etched gold. Sorting through my inventory (which incidentally needs another tidy up) I put various earrings and pendants in the nest and hanging from it. In the end it looked as if the robin had appropriated an expensive necklace, twirled the chain around to make the body of the nest and tucked the pendant over the side. Finally, I added the Red Robin holding one of my favourite wedding rings. He looked pleased!

The prim count was phenomenal, fortunately the lag was minimal. I’d been building inside a photoshell made by CIF&D’s co-founder Emcee Widget, a most useful item for photography which itself looks like an egg with a section removed and it serves as a mini darkroom. Hardly daring to take another breath, I dialled up preferences to the highest my computer will take without exploding and took about a dozen photos. Then it was time to dismantle the nest of unparalleled splendour which I saved in sections *laughs*

Here’s the advert. Yes, it was worth the agony.

(CIF&D – Career Institute of Fashion & Design, VWM – Virtual Worldwide Media)

Written by Moz Loordes

29/07/2011 at 1:52 pm

Posted in Jewelry

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AWesome build! Box it!

    MC

    Anonymous

    02/12/2011 at 8:17 am


Leave a Reply

